Peanut Butter and Coconut Treats

I was really excited to bake this recipe because I had heard great things about the health benefits of coconuts for dogs and I was interested to see if milo would like it since I never know with my king of smelling what you have to offer him and walking away with his nose in the air… So I first decided to test out the waters and give him a little pinch of the unsweetened coconut flakes just to see what I was working with. So I placed the coconut flakes on the floor and he ran right over, curious as to what it was I was offering him and I stepped back to see if this met his approval or not. As soon as I stepped back he smelled it, looked up at me as if asking permission to eat it, circled it some, smelled it again, and then BAM gobbled them up and licked the floor for more! I loved this recipe because not only did milo love it but it was super easy and had very little clean up! I will definitely be making this again!

Here is what you’ll need:

  • 4 cups of unsweetened cornflakes (I used rice puff cereal because my dog is allergic to corn)
  • 1 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup of hot water
  • 2 large eggs

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Coat baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray or line it with parchment paper.

Step 2: In a large bowl, crush the cornflakes into crumbs by hand or with a potato masher. Add the coconut, flour, peanut butter, water, and eggs and mix well.

Step 3: Drop rounded tablespoons of dough or roll out dough and cut into desired shapes and place onto baking sheet. Bake for 15-18 minutes until slightly hardened and allow 30 minutes of cooling before serving. Store up to 3 weeks in fridge or up to 2 months in freezer.

Benefits: Coconut has many health benefits for dogs. It has a high percentage of good saturated fats and can help with dry, itchy skin, allergies, digestion, nutrient absorption, weight loss, and more…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mary Jackson says:

    Just need a clarification of the recipe. You list the 1st 2 ingredients as cornflakes. I suspect one of them should be coconut, but not sure which one is incorrect. Please clarify since it does sound like a good recipe!

    Thanks,
    Mary J

    Like

    1. Milo's Meals says:

      Hi Mary! So sorry about the typo, thank you for catching it for me! The first step is the cornflakes and the second step is the coconut. I retyped it for you so it should make sense now! Let me know how it works out! These are my favorite treats to make and my dog absolutely loves them! Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

