Ground Turkey, Quinoa, and Carrots

This was my first ever recipe I made for milo. I decided to start simple with things I knew he had tried before and liked. It’s important when you are first switching to homemade meals that you start really simple with few ingredients so you do not shock your dogs system.

Here is what you need:

-1 tablespoon of olive oil

-2 pounds ground turkey (I puree in food processor for easier digestion)

-1 cup uncooked quinoa

-1/4 cup chopped carrots

Step 1: In a large sauté pan, heat the oil over medium low heat. Add the turkey and cook until it is browned. Drain any excess fat and set aside to cool

Step 2: Cook the quinoa as directed on the package and set it aside to cool, you should have around 2 cups of cooked quinoa.

Step 3: Puree the carrot in a food processor. You should have about 1/4 cup of carrot puree.

Benefits: Carrots are an excellent source of Beta-Carotene and Vitamin K. Also, quinoa is a great source of carbs in your dogs diet. It also contains high levels of essential amino acids which can sometimes be hard to find.

Milo was absolutely obsessed with this meal. I couldn’t believe my picky eater was jumping and scratching at my legs to try to get to the food as I was putting the bowl on the ground! He finished the whole thing before I could even turn around and was scratching the bowl for some more. I would say my first cooking experience was a success!

Please refer to a feeding chart and adjust your food measurements according to your dogs weight

Leave a Reply

